"I Had an Affair"

I recently read this article on Christianity Today entitled, I Had an Affair.

In short, the article tells the story of a woman who has an affair but eventually finds grace and reconciles with her husband.

On the one hand, I am amazed at the power of grace that can heal even the deepest of hurts.

On the other hand, I feel a bit ashamed… ashamed because I’m not sure I could do what the husband in the story has done. He has found the ability to forgive the ultimate betrayal, and I doubt I would be able to do that. I’m not sure I could ever find the strength to forgive and trust again.

What do you think? Where does turning the other cheek end? Is it possible to be hurt so badly in this life that we simply cannot get past it? And if so, does that contradict the Christian message of grace? If I cannot find it in my heart to forgive someone, am I denying the fundamental message of Jesus?

Leave a Reply

