“Spore” gets at least one guy really ticked

A while back I posted about a new video game called Spore. (Wiki page here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spore_(2008_video_game)) If you are a youth pastor with gamers in the youth group (or if your initials are JE), then you should at least know what this game is, because its sales numbers are going to be astronomical (pun intended).

In short, it is a simulation game where you play as ‘god,’ in a general sense of that term. You oversee the evolution of a species, from a single-celled organism to a space-faring race. Obviously then, the game simply accepts evolution as a given and moves on from there.

As I’m sure you can imagine, this has infuriated some who lean to the right… or maybe they lean too far and fall over. Either way, someone has started a website called http://antispore.com/

It’s basically a blog written by someone who is angry about the premise of the game and thinks EA (the game’s publisher) is out to brainwash the youth of America. I’m sure you can fill in the blanks from there.

Personally, I disagree. I think the game looks amazing, and I would love to own a copy. I would also not be worried if kids in my youth group were playing it. In fact, it could acrtually work to my advantage if they were. What would it look like if this game were used as a springboard to talk about the doctrines of God and Creation? Isn’t possible to react to this game constructively rather than out of fear?

quick edit: after exploring the website a little bit more, I found this interesting page: http://antispore.com/about/

Look at the non-Christian reactions to this page. How on Earth can this be helping Christianity? Maybe I should use this as an example of being unChristian…

Leave a Reply

