Spread the Word to End the Word

While I was in seminary, I spent two years tutoring/mentoring a middle school student with Down’s Syndrome. He was a sweet young man, full of energy and life. I learned more from him than I could ever include in a blog post.

One thing I will share, though. On a couple of occasions, he came back from school heartbroken. He’s a smart kid, and he knows that he has a disability. Sometimes, he gets depressesed because he feels “stupid” (his word)… For example, he knows that he’s not as fast with Math problems as his peers, and he knows he needs a tutor to help him with his homework; as a result, he sometimes feels inferior. Usually, some kind words of affirmation were enough to change his mood.

But I remember one day when things were different. On the playground at recess, some of his classmates made fun of him because of his disability — and used a word that has inspired this post.

His heart was broken.

So, me sharing this story is my part to help spread the word so we can end the word.

What can you do?

(via)

One thought on “Spread the Word to End the Word

  1. Children can do evil things too. This needs forgiveness and correction.

    What can I do?

    I will pray (anyone is welcome to say this with me if she chooses):

    Lord, look after all such children in such situations and heal them of the suffering they experience from this sort of evil. Bring those who hurt them to repent and become friends with those they hurt, and bring them all closer to you. I ask this, if it is your will, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

