Shameful

“You women are wonderful, but you don’t deserve this…”

Sexist pig. How much longer must we tolerate this bigotry in the name of God? I simply don’t have the stomach anymore.

On an semi-related note, has anyone been paying attention to the Anne Rice status update gone viral? Ironically, I have a blog post sitting in my draft folder entitled “I Quit” that I have been mulling over for a couple months. I have been hoping to muster the courage to post it, and Anne gave me a temporary boost of confidence to do so. And by temporary I mean about the duration of hearing her interview on NPR.

My post is inspired by recent (and old) events in my life that have caused me to question whether or not I can ever serve the church again in a professional capacity. Actually posting those words to the internet is kind of scary for me. I never thought I’d entertain that question, much less honestly consider answering it with a, “No.”

I wrote it for myself, for my own sanity, simply to help me cope with weeks and months and years of disillusionment and disappointment. I’m wondering if others would be interested in me sharing it.

5 thoughts on “Shameful

  1. I’ve been thinking about this subject for a long time and I would be interested in reading your thoughts if you wanted to share them.

    O, and I couldn’t listen past a minute to the bozo on the video.

  2. I’d be quite interested to hear what you have to say on the subject. I can’t believe that guy was serious. Wow.

  3. I wanted to come back and ask if your doubt and disillusionment is directed toward the church and members of the ignoromi you have featured recently, or is it directed at God? Or can you make a distinction at this point?

    I feel bad for you and I’m sorry about the desperation you are probably feeling. No doubt you have many friends but if you need to talk, get in touch. (Sorry, I couldn’t find an email address for you, but you can find mine.

  4. I had heard that Anne Rice quit, but not seen any of her reasons until now. I would be interested in your post.

Leave a Reply

