Doesn’t this make God an egomaniac?

A Twitter friend of mine recently re-tweeted the following:

Twitter - Mozilla Firefox_2011-03-29_21-27-35

When I read it the first time, I was simply confused. I wasn’t sure it was even a coherent claim. But I think that’s because the grammar is horribly awkward. Craig (who I don’t know and don’t intend to bad mouth in anyway) is saying that the reason God’s love for us is derived from God’s own love for glory. I’m still not convinced that’s a completely coherent claim, but this is Twitter, so I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt.

But my concern isn’t ultimately about coherence. My concern is what this claim says about our understanding of God.

What if I swapped some words around and said something like,

“My father loves his own reputation more than he loves me, and that is the foundation of his love for me.”

If a child approached me and said that, I would be very concerned for that child. If a father is more in love with his own reputation than he is with his children, what would that say about his ability to be a selfless, loving parent? I would think that such a father has his priorities completely backward, and at minimum, needs to take some parenting classes.

P.S., Fortunately for me, this statement is false when applied to me. My dad (and mom) love me and my siblings more than anything else in the world. I’m incredibly grateful that this is true; they’ve made incredible sacrifices for all their children.

2 thoughts on “Doesn’t this make God an egomaniac?

Leave a Reply

