Money, God, and Greedy Politicians

No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.

I spend a lot of time thinking about money. I spend a lot of time earning money. I spend some time worrying about money. I argue with my spouse about how we ought to spend and save our money.

But I try very hard – and I think I’ve done a fairly good job of it to this point – to not serve money. I did not choose my line of work because it will ever make me rich; it won’t. I chose my career because it affords the opportunity to help my neighbors. I try to give money away, although I could give away more.

Regardless, money doesn’t control me.

If recent reports are even remotely true, money is a very important part of the lives of Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan. Romney, a very wealthy American and thus one of the richest people in the world, won’t release his tax returns. I’m not really bent out of shape about that. I haven’t expected him to, and I probably wouldn’t be all that surprised with what they’d reveal.

What does irk me, however, is that Paul Ryan’s grandiose plan as part of the “comeback team” insulates and entrenches the privileged status of men and women like Mitt Romney.

There is some extrapolating and educated guessing here, but even if the numbers aren’t exactly correct, the question it raises turns my stomach.

How in the world is it just, fair, or right for a man as rich as Mitt Romney to pay an effective tax rate of less than 1%?

And how in the world can Christian leaders endorse a plan that institutionalizes, legitimizes, and entrenches corporate greed?

I sincerely believe that if Jesus were living now, and he’d be overturning tables and driving out men like Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan, who throw their coin into the offer plate while requiring the poor to drop their two cents – which happens to be all they have – into the offering plate.

I am disgusted.

 

Leave a Reply

